Home | Courses | Study types | TAFE qualifications

TAFE qualifications

Short courses
Can both be accredited or non-accredited, and typically take less than 40 nominal hours to complete. These courses are usually designed for a specific purpose and are not linked to a larger training course.
Skill sets
Are nationally accredited programs containing one or more units of competency. These courses are designed to give you a work outcome in the minimum timeframe. Skill sets also form part of a larger qualification, giving you credit should you wish to complete the full qualification at a later date.

Certificate I
Helps students develop the foundation skills required in some industries, and is often part of a suite of courses you can progress through.

Certificate II
Provides preparation for employment and/or apprenticeships. Studying a Certificate II may also include undertaking a traineeship with an on-the-job component.

Certificate III
Helps students develop strong skills in a range of occupational areas. Certificate III courses are roughly the same level as the trade certificate courses formerly offered at TAFE.

Certificate IV
Teaches supervisory and advanced technical skills which may build on skills already acquired in the workplace, through a Certificate III or its equivalent.

Prepares you for work that requires a broad range of complex technical skills and in-depth knowledge. Diploma courses often include training in management, planning and evaluation, budgeting and finance, and equip you with the higher level knowledge and skills of your chosen vocational area.

Advanced Diploma
Provides students with specialised knowledge for work in highly skilled professional areas. Graduates will gain specialized  technical and theoretical knowledge into one or more fields of work and learning. 

Page last updated August 04, 2016